Information on obtaining a Broker License:
- Broker License Requirements
- Pre-Licensing Education Requirements
- Post-Licensing & Continuing Education Requirements
- Information for Applicants Previously/Currently Licensed in Other States
- Information for Applicants with Criminal Records
- License, Certificate, Registration and Other Related Fees
- Errors & Omissions Insurance Requirements
- have been actively licensed as a real estate salesperson for at least four years in any state/jurisdiction.
- have obtained a high school diploma or equivalency certificate (GED)
- show proof of successful completion of one hundred fifty (150) classroom hours or its equivalent in courses specified and approved by the LREC.
- comply with all application procedures required by the LREC. This includes the submission of a criminal background history.
- pass the broker licensing examination.
- must provide proof of mandatory errors and omissions insurance prior to issuance of license.
The broker pre-licensing educational requirement is one hundred fifty (150) hours. The number of hours accepted for credit toward this requirement will be determined by the LREC. The LREC may consider granting partial credit toward the broker pre-licensing educational requirement; however, the number of credit hours will be determined based on the date of course completion and the applicability of the subject matter to current broker educational requirements. No substitution will be allowed for Real Estate 202, the thirty (30) hour course which covers the Louisiana Real Estate License Law, Commission Rules/Regulations, Law of Agency, and Civil Law pertaining to real estate. An additional thirty (30) hours must be completed in Real Estate 203, Broker Responsibilities, or its equivalent. The remaining hours can be obtained in a review of real estate principles/practices or other real estate electives. Broker courses may be obtained through the following sources:
- State certified real estate schools
Click here to view and download a list of state certified real estate schools.
- College and Universities
Credit for real estate courses completed at a college or university will be granted by the LREC based on the applicability of the subject to the current pre-licensing course requirements. The applicant must submit an original transcript to the LREC with a written request for a review toward the broker pre-licensing educational requirements. Please allow at least two weeks for response.
- Course work completed in other licensing jurisdictions
Partial credit may be granted for real estate courses completed in other licensing jurisdictions. No substitution will be allowed for the thirty (30) hour portion of the 150 hour broker pre-licensing requirement which covers the Louisiana Real Estate License Law, Commission Rules/Regulations, Law of Agency and Civil Law pertaining to real estate. The LREC may accept a substitution for Real Estate 203, a thirty (30) hour Broker Responsibilities course, which is a mandatory part of the 150 hour requirement, if it is determined that the course completed in another jurisdiction is equivalent to Real Estate 203. Approval for credit for course work completed in other jurisdictions must be obtained by the applicant prior to submission of an application for licensing.
- Course work completed for a specific real estate designation
Real estate or related course work completed through nationally recognized real estate organizations or institutes may be considered for partial credit toward the broker pre-licensing educational requirement. The applicant may submit any information that will assist in determining the applicability of the course for broker pre-licensing credit; however, proof of course completion (that includes the date of course completion, number of hours completed, and the subject matter covered) is required.
Post-Licensing & Continuing Education Requirements
It is important to note that there is a distinct difference in post-license education and continuing education. Post-license education is a one-time requirement that requires the student to pass an examination on course content, whereas continuing education is an annual requirement that must be completed each year, as a prerequisite for license renewal.
Post-license education hours may be used to satisfy eight (8) of the twelve (12)-hour annual continuing education requirement; however, post-license education hours will not satisfy the four (4)-hour mandatory continuing education topic specified by the commission.
Post Licensing Education
All initial licensees are required to complete forty-five (45) post-license education hours within one hundred eighty (180) days after the initial license date. Post-licensing education courses are available through LREC approved education providers.
All active real estate licensees must complete twelve (12) hours of approved continuing education course work each year to be eligible to renew their license for the next year. Four (4) of the twelve (12) continuing education hours must be completed in mandatory subjects specified by the LREC. Continuing education courses are available through LREC approved education providers.
License History Verification
Applicants previously or currently licensed outside Louisiana must submit an official license history verification from the state/jurisdiction in which the license was issued. It must include a cover letter that contains the applicant's complete name, mailing address, telephone number, and a detailed license history of the applicant, that includes all pre-licensing real estate education completed, and information on any previous or pending disciplinary action against the applicant.
Education requirement for Broker applicants who are currently licensed or previously licensed in other states
Partial credit may be granted for real estate courses completed in other licensing jurisdictions. No substitution will be allowed for the 30-hour portion of the 150-hour broker pre-licensing requirement, which covers the Louisiana Real Estate License Law, Commission Rules/Regulations, Law of Agency and Civil Law pertaining to real estate. The LREC may accept a substitution for Real Estate 203, a thirty (30) hour Broker Responsibilities course which is a mandatory part of the 150 hour requirement if it is determined that the course completed in another jurisdiction is equivalent to Real Estate 203. Credit for course work completed in other jurisdictions must be obtained by the applicant prior to submission of an application for licensing.
The LREC may accept the examination results from another state/jurisdiction as a substitution for the National portion of the Louisiana examination, if the applicant provides proof of passing an equivalent license examination within five years of the date of application for a license in Louisiana. If a waiver is granted, the applicant will be required to pass only the State portion of the Louisiana broker license examination. Please note that examination results from other states/jurisdictions will not be accepted from any applicant whose real estate license is expired.
The LREC requires all applicants who have any type of criminal conviction or felony to undergo a limited background investigation and to obtain LREC approval and authorization to take the licensing examination. This requirement also applies to any person who has received a first offender pardon. Licensing applicants with such records must contact the LREC, Investigative Division at (225) 925-1923, Extension 233, or 1-800-821-4529, (in state only) for specific instructions on the application process. criminal background history
As provided in Revised Statute 37:1443.Fees
The Commission may charge:
(1) Initial fees for licensing or certification:
(a) Individual real estate broker's license $120.00
(b) Corporate, partnership, or limited liability company real estate broker's license $120.00
(c) Branch office license $45.00
(d) Real estate salesperson's license $45.00
(e) School certification $650.00
(f) Instructor certification $35.00
(g) Instructor certification reexamination $35.00
(h) Continuing education vendor $300.00
(2) Renewal fees for licensing or certification:
(a) Real estate active broker's license $70.00
(b) Real estate inactive broker's license $35.00
(c) Branch office license $45.00
(d) Real estate active salesperson's license $35.00
(e) Real estate inactive salesperson's license $35.00
(f) School certification $300.00
(g) Instructor certification $35.00
(h) Continuing education vendor $150.00
(3) Fees for timeshare registration:
(a) Initial public offering statement filing fee $500.00
(b) Additional public offering statement filing fee $250.00
(c) Initial timeshare developer registration $120.00
(d) Timeshare developer renewal fee $70.00
(e) Initial timeshare interest salesperson fee $45.00
(f) Timeshare interest salesperson renewal fee $35.00
(g) Timeshare prize registration $150.00
(4) Delinquent fees, in addition to the renewal fee, if not renewed by December thirty-first of the applicable license, registration, or certification period:
(a) January 1 - February 15 $50.00
(b) February 16 - March 31 $200.00
(5) Transfer fees:
(a) Active status to inactive status $45.00
(b) Inactive status to active status $45.00
(c) All other transfers $35.00
(6) Processing fee $25.00
(7) License verification $25.00
(8) Continuing education course registration $15.00
Acts 1978, No. 514, § 1. Amended by Acts 1981, No. 309, § 1; Acts 1983, No. 552, § 2; Acts 1985, No. 999, § 2; Acts 1989, No. 655, § 1, eff. Jan. 1, 1990; Acts 1995, No. 1207, § 1; Acts 1997, No. 845, § 1; Acts 2007, No. 35, §1.
By law, all licensees holding active real estate licenses must carry Errors and Omissions insurance with a carrier rated "A" or better with A.M. Best. Licensees may choose the LREC's group policy or select an outside carrier. Click Errors and Omissions to view and download specific information on the LREC's Errors and Omissions insurance carrier. Click on the links below to view and download specific information on the LREC's Errors and Omissions insurance carrier.
- Group Program Highlights
- Pro-Rated Premiums
- Policy & Endorsements
- Certification of Independent Coverage