Pre-License Education

Home » Education » Pre-License Education

Pre-license education refers to the qualifying hours that must be completed to become eligible for taking the initial real estate salesperson or broker license exam.

SALESPERSON PRE-LICENSE CURRICULUM

1) Real Estate 101 is a 90-hour course that includes: 

  • Real estate Principles and Practices
  • Louisiana Real Estate License Law
  • Commission Rules and Regulations
  • Law of Agency (as contained in Title 9 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes)
  • Civil Law (as it pertains to real estate transactions)

BROKER PRE-LICENSE CURRICULUM

This curriculum is comprised of three parts that total 150 hours:

1)  Real Estate 201:

This is a 90-hour course on basic real estate fundamentals. 

2)  Real Estate 202 is a 30-hour course that includes, and is limited to:

  • Louisiana Real Estate License Law
  • Commission Rules and Regulations
  • Law of Agency (as contained in Title 9 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes)
  • Civil Law (as it pertains to real estate transactions)
  • Ethics and Professionalism

3)  Real Estate 203:

This is a mandatory 30-hour course on broker responsibilities.

 
Related Information:


FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS:


How many hours are required for a salesperson license?

Ninety (90) hours of approved course work that covers the principles and practices of real estate, the Louisiana Real Estate License Law, the Law of Agency, Commission Rules and Regulations, and Civil Law, as it pertains to real estate in Louisiana, is required.

Can the ninety hours required to obtain a salesperson license count toward obtaining a real estate broker license?

No. Licensed salespersons must complete an additional one hundred fifty (150) hours of approved course work. This course work must include a mandatory thirty hour broker responsibility course or its equivalent. The remaining broker hours may include a review of real estate principles and practices, electives in various real estate topics such as courses completed for a real estate designation, commercial brokerage, appraisal and other real estate related fields of study.

Does the LREC accept out of state real estate course work for pre-licensing credit for salesperson or broker education?

Yes. Up to sixty (60) hours completed in another jurisdiction may be credited toward the ninety (90) hour salesperson pre-licensing requirement. Up to one hundred twenty (120) hours completed in another jurisdiction may be credited toward the one hundred fifty (150) broker pre-licensing requirement. At least thirty (30) hours for both salesperson and broker applicants must be completed in a mandatory course covering the Louisiana Real Estate License Law, Law of Agency, Commission Rules/Regulations, and Civil Law, pertaining to real estate in Louisiana.

Does the LREC have to approve out of state course work prior to application for licensing?

Yes. Applicants must receive approval of out of state course work prior to submitting an initial license application.

If an individual completes the ninety (90) hour salesperson pre-licensing requirement, or the one hundred fifty (150) hour broker pre-licensing requirement, and obtains an initial license in the same year of course completion, does the newly licensed salesperson or broker have to complete an additional twelve (12) hours of continuing education to renew the license for the next licensing period?

Yes; however, if the licensee has completed the forty five (45) hour post licensing education the licensee will only need to complete the four-hour (4-hour) mandatory topic specified by the LREC to renew the license for the next licensing period.

Can licensing applicants complete pre-licensing hours through correspondence or distance learning methods?

Yes, under certain conditions. Pre-licensing courses completed via distance learning must be Internet-based and completed through a Louisiana state certified real estate school that has been approved by the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) for delivery standards and by the Commission for course content.

Is an examination required for pre-licensing credit?

Yes. Students must complete a final examination on course content as a condition for receiving a certificate of completion from an approved real estate school.

Back to Top

 

APPROVED SOURCES OF LIVE PRE-LICENSE COURSES FOR THE CLASSROOM


Adams Real Estate Institute
8575 Fern Avenue, Suite 105
Shreveport, LA 71105
Phone: (318) 453-8668
Director: Ben F. Dowis III 

Baton Rouge Community College
Website:  www.mybr.cc
201 Community College Drive
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
Phone: (225) 216-8998
Contact: Ross Potterschmidt

Bob Brooks School of Real Estate & Insurance Inc.
Website:  www.bobbrooksschool.com
3931 South Sherwood Forest Blvd.
Baton Rouge, LA 70816
Phone: (225) 292-7277 Fax: (225) 292-7677
Director: Bob Brooks
Branch Locations: Monroe

Bossier Parish Community College
Website:  www.bpcc.edu/continuing education
6220 E. Texas Street, Building D
Bossier City, LA 71111
Phone: (318) 678-6015
Program Director: Jasmine Horton, Continuing Education Registrar

Burk Baker School of Real Estate & Appraising, LLC
Website:  www.BurkBaker.com
2834 South Sherwood Forest Blvd., Suite B-14
Baton Rouge, LA 70816
Phone: (225) 293-6000
Toll Free:  1-800-222-3295
Director: Burk Baker
Branch Locations: Kenner, Lafayette, Lake Charles, Mandeville, West Monroe

Donaldson Educational Services, LLC
Website:  http://www.donaldsoneducational.com
2601 North Hullen Street, Suite 210
Metairie, LA 70002
Telephone: (504) 456-1785
Toll Free 1-800-257-2741
Director:  Chris Donaldson

Gulf South Real Estate Institute, Inc.
1180 E. McNeese Street, Suite C
Lake Charles, LA 70607
Phone: (337) 310-1664
Director: R. Patrick Diamond

Real Estate School & More, LLC
Website:  www.realestateschoolbyroz.com
Post Office Box 12983
Alexandria, LA 71315
Phone: (318) 452-6443
Director: Roz Allemond
Branch Locations: Leesville, Jena, Many, Natchitoches, Oakdale, Marksville

The Real Estate School, LLC
Post Office Box 6351
Lake Charles, LA 70606
Phone: (337) 532-2485
Director: Mark D. Norsworthy
Branch Locations: Lafayette, Monroe

Wingate School of Real Estate
1603-A North Pine Street 
DeRidder, LA 70634
Phone: (337) 462-1501
Director: Lynn Wingate

Back to Top

 

APPROVED SOURCES OF INTERNET-BASED PRE-LICENSE INSTRUCTION 


The delivery standards for Internet-based distance education courses must be certified by the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) in order to receive credit. Course content, the number of credit hours, and the purpose of the course, i.e. pre-licensing, post licensing, or continuing education, are approved by the LREC.

Credit is awarded for Internet-based distance education courses based on equivalent hours. Equivalent hours means the time required for the average student to master the content of an approved Internet-based pre-licensing course in which the course content is equivalent to an in-class pre-licensing course.

Bob Brooks School of Real Estate & Insurance, Inc.
Website:  www.bobbrooksschool.com
3931 South Sherwood Forest Blvd.
Baton Rouge, LA 70816
Phone: (225) 292-7277 Fax: (225) 292-7677
Director: Bob Brooks
Branch Locations: Monroe

Burk Baker School of Real Estate & Appraising, LLC
Website:  www.BurkBaker.com
P. O. Box 87236 ( Zip: 70879)
2834 South Sherwood Forest Blvd., Suite B-14
Baton Rouge, LA 70816
Phone: (225) 293-6000
Toll Free:  1-800-222-3295
Director: Burk Baker
Branch Locations: Kenner, Lafayette, Lake Charles, Mandeville, West Monroe

Donaldson Educational Services, LLC
Website:  www.donaldsoneducational.com
2601 North Hullen Street, Suite 210
Metairie, LA 70002
Phone: (504) 456-1785
Toll Free 1-800-257-2741
Director: Chris Donaldson

McKissock, LLC
Website:  www.mckissock.com
218 Liberty Street
Warren, PA 16365
Phone: (800) 328-2008
Attn: Cathy Southwell

ProEducate
Website:  www.proeducate.com
4200 South I-10 Service Road West, Suite 134
Metairie, LA 70001
Phone:  (504) 454-9866
Toll Free:  1-800-966-9866
Director: Roy L. Ponthier, Ph.D.

Back to Top


LOUISIANA COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES


The Louisiana Real Estate Commission accepts college or university real estate courses toward the salesperson or broker pre-licensing educational requirement based on the date of completion and the applicability of the course content to current mandatory curriculum guidelines.

Applicants seeking approval of real estate course work completed at a Louisiana college or university should submit a copy of their college transcript to the Education Division for a determination.

Back to Top


COURSE COMPLETION CERTIFICATES AND/OR TRANSCRIPTS


Course work completed at approved real estate schools or through an approved college or university are valid for full credit toward real estate pre-licensing requirements for a period of five (5) years.

Partial credit may be granted for real estate course work completed between five (5) and ten (10) years prior to application. Such approval will be granted based on the applicability of the subject matter to current educational requirements. Persons seeking partial credit must submit proof of completion and a written request for review and determination of credit prior to applying for a real estate license. Allow at least two weeks for a final determination.

Back to Top