About Us

Home » About Us

The Louisiana Real Estate Commission is responsible for administering the Real Estate License Law (R.S. 37:1430 et seq.) and the Rules and Regulations of the Commission.

The Real Estate Commission consists of eleven members appointed by the Governor for one six-year term each. Each appointment by the governor is submitted to the Senate for confirmation:

• One member is appointed from each of the seven Supreme Court districts.
• Two members are appointed at large.
• Two members are appointed from within the seven state Congressional districts:
   One is appointed from the Fourth or Fifth Congressional District
   One is appointed from the First, Second, Third, Sixth or Seventh Congressional District.

Responsibilities are carried out by a staff of twenty-four persons and led by an Executive Director who is employed by the Commission.